The history of Dark Legacy goes back to 1996. The band was formed in the little swedish village Örsundsbro under the name Rest In Peace. As a loudplaying heavy metal band they played covers of famous heavy metal acts. After many live concerts and some changes in the line-up, the band picked a new name and changed direction in 2005. Musically Dark Legacy went into darker territories and the sound can be described as symphonic death/black metal. From now the band solely composed their own material and in late 2012 they started to record the best songs of its 16 years long activity. 2013 the band signed with BVR and the following year their debut album “Ad Extremum Epilogue” was released. The release was followed by a short English tour and soon the band was back in the studio to compose the sequel to the debut. Daniel T’s brother Gabriel joined the band on 2nd guitar for the secual fullength and to reenforce the band on some live shows. After releasing a single 2017 with the title track to what awaited, the full-length album “The Rejects” came in early 2019. The record was mastered by Dan Swanö and released on the Swedish record label Black Vulture Records. “The Rejects” was followed with the single “Mister Babadook” in 2020, a song inspired from an elderly horror movie and yet another 2 years later the band had composed material enough for the EP “An Unexpected Interference”. Thematically, the band continues with its horror and fantasy depictions.

To be continued…

Dark Legacy @


Daniel Tjernberg – Vocals/ad. keyboard
Equipment: Shure mics, Korg and Novanation keyboards
Previous/other bands or projects: Korseld, Blutfeld, Shrouded in Darkness, Tjernberg Brothers, S/T, Rest in Peace (Split-up), Metal Fusion (Split-up)


Mikael Dagobert – Keyboards/Ad. vocals
Equipment: Korg, Technics and Yamaha keyboards, Landola guitars, Shure mics
Previous/other bands or projects: Rest in Peace (Split-up), Dragon Attack (Split-up), Violin in A Symphony Orchestra (Split-up), Violin in Some Strings Quartetes (Split-up)

Daniel Reese – Guitar
Equipment: Gibson guitars, Marshall amplifiers and cabinets, Kemper amp
Previous/other bands or projects: Korseld, Shrouded in Darkness, Metal Fusion (Split-up), Saxophone in Scendraget (Split-up)


Jens Fredriksson – Bass
Equipment: Fender Jazz Bass, Laney amplifiers and cabinets
Previous/other bands or projects: Rest in Peace (Split-up), Jeep (Split-up)


Jonas Hoffman – Drums
Equipment: Diverse drums, Pearl Demon Drive pedal, Roland V-Drums TD9KX
Previous/other bands or projects: Trubb.z, Rest in Peace (Split-up)

Session member

Gabriel Tjernberg – Guitar (2015-)
Equipment: Schecter Omen Extreme 6, Kemper amp
Previous/other bands or projects: Tjernberg Brothers, Blutfeld

Camilla Tjernberg – Vocals (2018-)

Former members

Mikael Tjernberg – Recorder and vocals, live session (2008-2012)
Jens Lundin (1996 – 2007) – Guitar
Christian Larsson (1996 – 2007) – Keyboard
Magnus Mjöbäck (1996 – 1997) – Drums

Back home